verycooltrash:

unregistered-hypercam2:

i swear there is a huge disconnect in how some people speak to each other and consume “debate” like every day i see someone trying to have a genuine intellectual (albeit masturbatory) debate or argument with another person, who, wants nothing more than to call the first guy a pedantic dullard and call it a day

we really need a push for the understanding of the difference between “this person is making fun of you” and “this person is giving you an open invitation to debate them like an adult”. i feel like in the last 10 years there has been a lot of talk about “talking things out like adults” which has led to people in their 20s and younger carrying this air of empty responsibility, maturity, “ i shall never use these 10 logical fallacies !!!” kind of people, you know? 

the problem is, if you think every interaction with another person is an “argument” or “debate”, you have a very, very inflated ego and sense of self-worth. you are not that important, most people want to have intellectual conversations and debates with their friends and family, not random amateur devils advocate debate club losers on the internet. 

it’s perfectly fine to tell someone to fuck off

Leave a comment