a cis gay man: calls himself a queen and sister and other feminine terms, wears a full face of makeup, wears skirts and dresses, refers to himself with she pronouns sometimes, etc
y’all: yes….so powerful…..breaking down gender roles…..iconique!
a trans gay man: does the exact same thing
y’all:
like cis gay men are allowed to express themselves and play around with their relationship to gender in a way that trans men are just not allowed to! when it comes down to trans men expressing themselves in any feminine manner all y’all have to say is “oh but shouldn’t that make you dysphoric? you’re not really a man if you’re comfortable with that”
y’all want to destroy gender roles and shit but you insist on keeping them in place when it comes to a trans person expressing themselves. but oh no cis people can be as masculine and as feminine as they want! you just can’t handle a trans person being comfortable and happy with themselves you think we always have to be miserable.
The last place dysphoria should come from is inside the community, yet I spent a few miserable years after coming out feeling like I was “fake trans” or “letting the community down” if I wore anything that didn’t scream I AM A MAN LOOK AT HOW MALE I AM. The moment I went “Fuck it I have always loved sundresses they are comfortable and twirly” is the moment I started being MYSELF again.
Cute has no gender! Pretty has no gender! Beautiful has no gender!
LIKEWISE
Handsome has no gender! Badass has no gender! Cool has no gender!
…except for the gender we give to them, and that should be always always ALWAYS be used for euphoria, not dysphoria. None of these terms should be something we want to have applied for other people, we should want to have them applied for ourselves.
Take your adjectives and wear them proudly! You are inscrutably you, and you deserve your aesthetic! We didn’t work this damned hard to define ourselves just to let other people try to redefine us again!